Ashley Loring HeavyRunner still missing in Montana

Scott Snyder
4 min readOct 17, 2021

The Native American woman disappeared in June 2017, and remains unaccounted for.

Ashley Loring Heavyrunner poster-Courtesy of AP

If you follow my work on Medium, you probably know that I’m a retired police officer and forensic child interviewer. And you might be aware that the majority of my work, centers around missing and murdered women. I have a passion for doing my part to keep these cases alive — because these women and girls are out there somewhere. And they deserve to come home. They deserve justice, and their families and friends deserve some sense of closure as to their whereabouts.

In June 2017, a Native American woman by the name of Ashley Loring HeavyRunner went missing from the Blackfeet Reservation in Browning, Montana. Not long before she went missing, she had told her sister Kimberly that she planned to do her part to help find missing Native American women. And then she became a victim of the very thing that she wanted to help with. Ashley was 20 at the time of her disappearance. She was last seen alive on June 13th of that year. She has not been located, and while authorities say that the case remains open, there are no new leads in Ashley’s case.

One of many who disappear

According to the Montana Missing and Murdered Indigenous People Task Force, there were over 3,000 Native American people…

--

--

Scott Snyder

I live in Oregon. I’m a retired Police Officer and Forensic Child Interviewer. Writing and music are two of my passions.